Are you a Community Rabies Champion? Share your story with the world!


Are you a LOCAL ORGANISATION, GOVERNMENT, INDIVIDUAL or STUDENT/STUDENT GROUP working to prevent rabies in your community?

The annual World Rabies Day Awards recognize Community Rabies Champions from across the world. This year there are even more opportunities to share the stories of people and organisations to prevent rabies in their communities.

Some of the benefits of sending in a nomination for a World Rabies Day Award

  • Promote your work to a much wider audience across the world and gain recognition and potentially support for your efforts
  • Help your work to be viewed by international organisations
  • An award of USD 1,200 or equivalent in kind
  • A plaque and certificate for awardees
  • Certificates for all shortlisted nominees
  • All nominees will get a downloadable certificate of nomination on request

Award categories

The Award categories have been expanded to better showcase the tremendous range of work and people who care about ending this disease. 

Global categories:

  • Individuals from all sectors
  • Students/student groups

We’d particularly like to hear about people who are living and working in the community where they are raising awareness about the disease. Submit a global nomination here. 

Regional categories

(PARACON – sub-Saharan Africa, ARACON - Asia, MERACON – Middle East, Eastern Europe, Central Asia and North Africa, Americas)

  • NGOs and governments that have built sustainable community programmes with a focus on rabies prevention

The focus is on local NGOs and governments, especially where you can show how the program is having an impact on rabies in the community. Submit a regional nomination here

If you aren’t a champion, maybe you know someone who is? Or an organization that has worked tirelessly to end this awful disease where you live or work? Share your appreciation for their work by sending in a nomination for the World Rabies Day Awards 2018.

We recognise the amazing work done by international and national NGOs, academics and the vaccine sector towards eliminating rabies. However, as the Awards provide a chance for smaller, relatively unknown local champions to share their stories with the rest of the rabies prevention world, this is a great chance to send in a nomination for local partners and other stakeholders.

Please review the Award criteria below before submitting a nomination – if you have any queries contact us

Nominations close on September 7th. The shortlisted entries will be announced on World Rabies Day, September 28th, and the Awards will be announced on One Health Day, November 3rd.

You can view the 2017 shortlist and Award recipients here 

The World Rabies Day Awards are brought to you by MSD Animal Health and the Global Alliance for Rabies Control.

Award criteria

  1. At the time of nomination, nominees must be contributing actively to the field of rabies prevention/control.                
  2. Nominees will be chosen for the impact of their work at the local community level.        
  3. Historical projects may be used as part of a broader nomination, but cannot be used as the sole reason for nomination.      
  4. Self-nominations are welcomed.
  5.  Individual category: Nominations may be from any sector          
  6. Student category: Nominations may be for individual students or teams of students from any field. School and college/university students/teams are eligible.
  7. Regional categories: Nominations may be for -
    • government organisations
    • NGOs/charities with a total annual income below USD 200,000, and registered in the country where their community work is based 
  8. If governments or government employees are award recipients, the cash award will be replaced by a non-monetary contribution of equal value to their rabies awareness programme. This can include the design and printing costs for awareness materials such as posters or leaflets, a public service announcement in mass media, conference registration/attendance or similar activities.  Vaccines and equipment will not be considered.       
  9. Past and current staff of organisers and the judging panel are ineligible for the awards.
  10. Nominations are strongly preferred in English, but other languages will be considered where possible. 
  11. Nominations must be completed online.