World Rabies Day Awards 2023

The World Rabies Day awards are here!

World Rabies Day awards 2023

What are the benefits of being an Awardee?

For the second consecutive year, GARC has partnered with Boehringer-Ingelheim to deliver the World Rabies Day awards. As was the case last year, we will be awarding the chosen champions with some fantastic prizes, including grant money and in-kind support. 

  • Awardees will receive an award of USD 1,500 to help you continue your excellent efforts towards rabies elimination.
  • Awardees will also receive in-kind support from GARC, valued at 1,500 USD for a total amount of 3,000 USD per award!  
  • Awardees will also receive a plaque and certificate, recognizing their efforts.
World Rabies Day 2023 theme banner

Award categories

Veterinary Clinic Award:

This is aimed towards practitioners working in a veterinary clinic that contribute to their community with outreach work or pro bono work. For instance, clinics that provide free rabies vaccinations. 

Education champion: 

This category aims to celebrate those people doing education work in their communities. This can include general awareness and advocacy, educating children, developing great resources or any other education activity relating to rabies elimination. 

Vaccination champion:

This category focuses on celebrating those individuals who contribute to vaccinating dogs against rabies in their community. Awardees will be assessed based on their impact in relation to their capacity, so whether you vaccinate 50 dogs or 3 000 dogs you can still be nominated.

Animal welfare champion:

This category aims to celebrate those individuals who are working to improve dog population management and those who are working to end indiscriminate culling of dogs in the name of rabies control. Any other animal welfare activities are welcome (e.g. shelters, feeding programs etc.) but, the link to rabies elimination should be clear. DPM programs can include sterilization, TNVR campaigns and waste management, among others. 

Award Criteria

The Awards are applicable for individuals that work with or for local NGOs or governments that have built sustainable community programs with a focus on rabies prevention.

We recognize the amazing work done by international and national NGOs, academics, and the vaccine sector towards eliminating rabies. However, as the Awards provide a chance for smaller, relatively unknown local champions to share their stories with the rest of the rabies prevention world, this is a great chance to send in a nomination for local partners and other stakeholders. Please feel free to nominate organizations or individuals that you may support.

Follow us on social media to stay up to date with the awards. 

Why wait, see who the awardees are now!